2019 Gala Award Recipients


Distinguished Leadership Award

Dr. Lisa Su
President & CEO, Advanced Micro Devices

Dr. Lisa T. Su is President and Chief Executive Officer of AMD, a position she has held since 2014. AMD is a leader in high-performance computing, graphics and visualization technologies ― the building blocks for gaming, immersive platforms and the data center. Dr. Su joined AMD in 2012 as Senior Vice President and General Manager, global business units, then became Chief Operating Officer. Prior to joining AMD, Dr. Su served as senior vice president and general manager at Freescale Semiconductor. Dr. Su spent 13 years at IBM in various engineering and business leadership positions, including vice president of IBM’s Semiconductor Research and Development Center.

Dr. Su has bachelor’s, master’s and doctorate degrees in electrical engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). She was named a Fellow of the Institute of Electronics and Electrical Engineers in 2009. In 2018, Dr. Su was elected to the National Academy of Engineering. In 2019, Barron’s named her one of the world’s best CEOs and Fortune Magazine selected her as one of the Most Powerful Women in Business. Dr. Su was raised in Queens and is a graduate of the Bronx High School of Science.

Vision and Venture Award

Osagie Imasogie
Senior Managing Partner & Co-Founder, PIPV Capital

Osagie Imasogie has over 30 years of experience in the field of law, finance, business management, healthcare and the pharmaceutical industry. He is a co-founder and the Senior Managing Partner of PIPV Capital, a Private Equity Firm that is focused on the Life Sciences vertical. Prior to co-founding PIPV Capital, Osagie conceptualized and established GlaxoSmithKline Ventures and was its founding Vice President.

Osagie has held senior legal, commercial and R&D positions within pharmaceutical companies such as GSK, SmithKline, DuPont Merck and Endo. Osagie has also been a Price Waterhouse Corporate Finance Partner as well as an attorney with a leading US Law Firm.

Osagie is a serial entrepreneur and investor. He serves as Chairman and Founder of Ilera Therapeutics and a number of other pharmaceutical and biotech companies. In addition, he serves on the Board of several financial institutions such as FS-KKR (NYSE: FSK), Haverford Trust and StoneRidge Investments.

Osagie is a Trustee of the University of Pennsylvania and a member of its Executive Committee. In addition, Osagie is a member of the Board of Overseers of Penn Law School, where he is an Adjunct Professor of Law. Osagie holds post-graduate degrees from Penn Law School and the London School of Economics.

Seidenberg Family Top of the Ladder Award

More than 4,000 students have worked as Explainers at NYSCI, moving up the Science Career Ladder (SCL) toward successful careers in STEM. Ninety-five percent of Explainers go on to college, compared to just 39 percent of an age-comparable New York City cohort, and 70 percent pursue careers in STEM. This award celebrates the work that all Explainers do, and most importantly, recognizes individuals who go above and beyond to support NYSCI’s mission.

Katarina Wengerter

Katarina Wengerter has been in the SCL for four years. She has a Bachelor’s degree in Neuroscience with a minor in Counseling from Queens College, and is currently pursuing a Post Baccalaureate in Biology. She has participated in numerous programs at NYSCI such as Groove Health and Exercise Research Camp, Girls in Tech, and has most recently been an Engineering Design Fellow. With these combined experiences, Katerina has decided her next goal is to become a science educator and inspire the next generation of STEM leaders in the classroom.

Previous Award Recipients


Tim Tynan
Bank of American Merchant Services

Joan Fallon, D.C.
Founder and CEO

Mimi Valdés
Chief Creative Officer
i am OTHER


John Kelly
SVP of Cognitive Solutions and IBM Research
IBM Corporation

Jennifer Morgan
Executive Board Member and President, Americas and Asia Pacific Japan

Frans Johansson
Founder & CEO
The Medici Group


Guy Chiarello
First Data

Leonard Schleifer, M.D., Ph.D.,
Founder, President and CEO
George Yancopoulos, M.D., Ph.D.
Founding Scientist and CSO
Regeneron Pharmaceuticals, Inc.

Ayah Bdeir
Founder and CEO


Bob Greifeld

David Karp
Founder and CEO


Denise L. Ramos
President and CEO
ITT Corporation

Jeanne M. Sullivan
StarVest Partners


Glenn Britt
Chairman and CEO
Time Warner Cable

Osamu Nagata
President and CEO
Toyota Motor Engineering and Manufacturing North America


Ajay Banga
President and CEO

Jes Staley
Chairman, Corporate and Investment Bank
J.P. Morgan


accepted by Alfred Spector
Vice President, Research and Special Initiatives

Kevin Parker
Global CEO
Deutsche Bank Asset Management

John Slaughter
Former President and CEO
National Action Council for Minorities in Engineering


Prof. Salim T.S. Al-Hassani
Foundation for Science, Technology & Civilisation

Jack Hughes
Founder and Chairman
TopCoder, Inc.

William C. Rudin
Vice Chairman and CEO
Rudin Management Company, Inc.


Dr. Peter L. Salk
Vice President and Scientific Director
Jonas Salk Foundation

Linda S. Sanford
Senior Vice President, Enterprise Transformation
IBM Corporation


Paula S. Apsell
Senior Executive Producer NOVA, Director of Science Unit

Francisco D’Souza
President and CEO
Cognizant Technology Solutions Corporation

Mike S. Zafirovski
President and CEO
Nortel Networks


John T. Chambers
Chairman and CEO
Cisco Systems

Marguerite and Joshua Lederberg

Judy C. Lewent
Retired Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer
Merck & Co., Inc.

Catherine A. Rein
Senior Executive Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer


Corning Incorporated
accepted by James R. Houghton and Amory Houghton Jr.

William T. Golden

Steven R. Loranger
Chairman, President and CEO
ITT Corporation

Patricia F. Russo
Chairman and CEO
Lucent Technologies


Ursula M. Burns
President, Business Group Operations
Xerox Corporation

Sallie L. Krawcheck
Chief Financial Officer


Red Burns
Professor and Chair of Interactive Telecom Program
Tisch School of the Arts
New York University

Gerald L. Hassell
The Bank of New York Company, Inc.

Fred Wilpon
Chairman and CEO
New York Mets


John S. Hendricks
Founder, Chairman and CEO
Discovery Communications, Inc.

Donald H. Layton
Vice Chairman
J.P. Morgan Chase & Co.

Sir Howard Stringer
Chairman and CEO
Sony Corporation of America
Vice Chairman
Sony Corporation


Nicholas M. Donofrio
Senior Vice President, Technology & Manufacturing
IBM Corporation

Karen L. Katen
Pfizer Global Pharmaceuticals

David A. Macaulay


Alan Alda

David H. Komansky
Chairman and CEO
Merrill Lynch & Co., Inc.


Thomas H. Glocer
Reuters Information and Reuters America Inc.

Paul M. Horn
Senior Vice President, Research
IBM Corporation

Herb Scannell
Nickelodeon/Nick at Nite


Paul A. Allaire
Xerox Corporation

John A. Roth
President and CEO
Nortel Networks

Honorable Claire Shulman
Borough of Queens


Joseph L. Dionne
McGraw-Hill Companies

Richard A. Grasso
Chairman and CEO
New York Stock Exchange

Eugene R. McGrath
Chairman and CEO
Consolidated Edison Company of New York, Inc.

Featured Gala Awardees


Current list of NYSCI's Trustees, Officers, Trustees Emeriti & Ex-Officio

Join the President's Council

Be a part of an elite and distinguished group of scientists, business leaders, entrepreneurs, philanthropists and other individuals who have interests in science, education, and the cultural and intellectual life of New York and the nation.