About

lower level Central Pavilion at worlds fair

World’s Fair Exhibits in the Hall of Science

More on the occasion of our 50th Birthday. Yesterday, we looked at Wallace Harrison’s iconic Great Hall. Today, let’s look downstairs at what is today known as our Central Pavilion. The galleries were put beneath the main structure due to the soil conditions at the…

Continue reading →

user_portrait

Iboun Morrison

Training Specialist, Science Career Ladder (718) 595-9140 imorrison@nysci.org

Continue reading →

Georgette Williams

Program Manager of Education Services (718) 595-9114 gwilliams@nysci.org

Continue reading →

user_portrait

Edward Murray

Visitor Services Supervisor, External Affairs (718) 683-9391 emurray@nysci.org

Continue reading →

luistro_portrait

Don Michael Luistro

Science Instructor, Education (718) 595-9172 dluistro@nysci.org

Continue reading →

cramer_portrait

Catherine Cramer

Program Manager, Science and Technology (718) 595-9121 ccramer@nysci.org

Continue reading →

young_portrait

Caroline Young

Portfolio Manager, Institutional Advancement (718) 595-9190 cyoung@nysci.org

Continue reading →

6935601765_dcf80b8554_b

Wallace Harrison’s “Cathedral of Science”

“At a time when science vies with religion in explaining the mysteries of the universe, this is an oddly significant architectural twist.” So wrote Ada Louise Huxtable about Wallace Harrison’s Hall of Science. Harrison said he was simply looking for a new way to build…

Continue reading →

dedication_Page_4a

Happy 50th Birthday, New York Hall of Science

September 9 marks fifty years since the dedication of the Hall of Science. On that date in 1964, Mayor Wagner, Robert Moses, and other dignitaries led an hour-long ceremony in the blazing sun while guests “mopped their brows” and murmured to each other that “it’s…

Continue reading →

user_portrait

Antonio Renovales

Science Instructor, Education (718) 595-9126 arenovales@nysci.org

Continue reading →

user_portrait

Anthony Douyon

Lab Technician, Exhibits (718) 595-9119 adouyon@nysci.org

Continue reading →

user_portrait

Amy Kamarainen

Visiting Scholar, SciPlay (718) 683-9380 akamarainen@nysci.org

Continue reading →

user_portrait

Amina Fresno

Visitor Services, External Affairs (718) 683-9385 afresno@nysci.org

Continue reading →

Akosua (Naana) Ohene

Special Events Assistant (718) 595-9163 nohene@nysci.org

Continue reading →

user_portrait

Julie Burns

Reservation Manager, External Affairs (718) 595-9113 Jburns@nysci.org

Continue reading →

user_portrait

Kelvin Burdier

Visitor Experience Supervisor (718) 683-9375 Kburdier@nysci.org

Continue reading →

user_portrait

Elizabeth Bannister

Group Reservationist, External Affairs (718) 595-9184 Ebannister@nysci.org

Continue reading →

baker_portrait

Sarah Baker

Portfolio Manager (718) 683-9390 Sbaker@nysci.org

Continue reading →

donovan speaks at science hall crop

May ’68: Donovan Speaks at Science Hall

More than 300 superintendents, principals and science guidance advisors come to the Hall of Science for Nuclear Week.   Among those who helped plan Nuclear Week in New York was none other than John Dunning. Read more about the history of NYSCI in our Archives.

Continue reading →

Apr ’68: Flushing Meadows Science Hall to Be Expanded

Five months after the Hall of Science expansion received the go-ahead from City Planning, Max O. Urbahn Architects was retained to lead the project. An ambiguous start date of “fall or next spring” was reported for start of construction. Emanuel Piore said the new museum…

Continue reading →

Page 3 of 10 1 2 3 4 5 ... Last →